Share |

Meet the Team

Please feel free to contact our staff with story ideas, news tips, suggestions, or feedback.



Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, US
+1 (0) 812 856-3684

Sarah currently serves as editor-in-chief within the IT Communications Office at Indiana University. She leads a team primarily focused on grant-funded research and network-enabled science, as well as high-level communications for the university community. She also serves as a contributing editor for Open Science Grid (OSG) Communications. Sarah previously worked in publishing before turning to non-profit and IT communications. She graduated with honors from the University of Chicago, where she studied literature, philosophy, and religion. (Photo courtesy Bonnie Burke, Bonnie & Lauren.)


US editor

, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, US
+1 (0) 812 855-7437

Lance comes to iSGTW from University Information Technology Services (UITS) at Indiana University. He graduated summa cum laude from Indiana State University where he was twice awarded the Hazel Tesh Pfennig scholarship. With past lives as a guitar slinger, English professor, and journalist, he is living proof there is life after an English degree.


European editor

, CERN, Geneva, Switzerland
+41 (0) 22 76 62287

Andrew has a BSc degree in Biology from the University of York and an MSc in Science Communication from Imperial College London. He has also carried out research at the University of Bayreuth. Andrew has previously worked as a freelance journalist and as online producer for New ScientistHe won the Science Challenge writing prize in 2011 and can be found on Twitter under A_Purcell




Contributing writers

Francois Grey, EUAsia Grid

The iSGTW Advisory Board

  • Mélissa Gaillard, CERN openlab communications officer
  • Sara Coelho, communications manager,
  • Ruth Pordes, executive director, Open Science Grid, and associate head of the Fermilab Computing Division
  • Paul Avery, professor, University of Florida, and resource manager, Open Science Grid
  • Bob Jones, project director, EU Project Coordination, CERN
  • Sarah Engel, managing editor, IT Communications at Indiana University

Terms of Reference

Past Editors

  • Amber Harmon, US editor, May 2012 -December 2014
  • Adrian Giordani, Interim European Editor and Editor-in-Chief, April 2012 - August 2012
  • Miriam Boon, US editor, July 2009 - June 2012
  • Vivian Tiän-Tiän Chang, AP Editor, 2012
  • Jacqueline Hayes, EU editor, April 2011-April 2012
  • Dan Drollette, EU editor, May 2008 - April 2011
  • Anne Heavey, US editor, May 2008 - July 2009
  • Cristy Burne, editor-in-chief, 6 June 2007 - 7 May 2008
  • Danielle Venton, editor-in-chief, 24 January 2007 - 6 June 2007
  • Katie Yurkewicz, editor-in-chief, 16 November 2006 (first issue) - 24 January 2007